« Version 4.1 - 7.2 Information Security Standards | Main | Version 4.1 - 7.4 Industry Best Practices »

Version 4.1 - 7.3 Standards Bodies

ISO is the International Organization for Standardization. They develop and publish International Standards. They also set standards for energy, risk and food safety along with Information Security Management.

"Because 'International Organization for Standardization' would have different acronyms in different languages (IOS in English, OIN in French for Organisation internationale de normalisation), our founders decided to give it the short form ISO. ISO is derived from the Greek isos, meaning equal. Whatever the country, whatever the language, we are always ISO."

IEC is the International Electrotechnical Commission. Millions of devices that contain electronics, and use or produce electricity, rely on IEC International Standards and Conformity Assessment Systems to perform, fit and work safely together. The IEC is one of three global sister organizations (IEC, ISO, ITU) that develop International Standards for the world. Their publications fall into two categories: Normative publications and Informative publications.

The ITU is the United Nations specialized agency for information and communication technologies – ICTs. "We allocate global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develop the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies seamlessly interconnect, and strive to improve access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide."

ITU has three main areas of activity organized in ‘Sectors’ which work through conferences and meetings.
# Radiocommunications
# Standardization
# Development

Now this is a standards organization that you may not be familiar with, but they developed the standards like:

...and many others.

ISOC is the Internet Society. Their mission is to promote the open development, evolution, and use of the Internet for the benefit of all people throughout the world. They provide financial, staff and legal support for IAB, IETF and the IRTF and their work in devising essential Internet standards. They are the one that funds the RFC Editor - where all the RFCs are found.

The IETF has a mission of "making the Internet work better by producing high quality, relevant technical documents that influence the way people design, use, and manage the Internet." The IETF Mission Statement is documented in RFC 3935. The IETF's official products are documents, published free of charge as RFCs.

The IAB is the Internet Architecture Board. The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation.

In its work, the IAB strives to:

Ensure that the Internet is a trusted medium of communication that provides a solid technical foundation for privacy and security, especially in light of pervasive surveillance,
Establish the technical direction for an Internet that will enable billions more people to connect, support the vision for an Internet of Things, and allow mobile networks to flourish, while keeping the core capabilities that have been a foundation of the Internet’s success, and
Promote the technical evolution of an open Internet without special controls, especially those which hinder trust in the network.

IANA is the one you should know already. It manages Domain Names (management of the root zone), number resources (IP Addresses and AS Numbers) and Protocol Assignments. This is the place where you find Protocol Numbers and Port Numbers.

ICANN - the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers coordinates the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) functions, which are key technical services critical to the continued operations of the Internet's underlying address book, the Domain Name System (DNS). So basically IANA is run by ICANN.


Powered by
Movable Type 3.2